• Print

Author Topic: Retirement  (Read 2950 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline HecticZA

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • GP 2 driver
  • *******
  • Posts: 5363
  • Karma: 128
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Retirement
« Reply #15 on: September 25, 2014, 09:11:51 AM »
Which  ISP are you using Steyn?  Some ISP's are booked atm,  even speedtests indicate all is well.  To is also busy with new QoS setups and it resulted in P2P traffic killing all other traffic.
Can you do a traceroute?  That might show us if your exchange is congested or on which hop(s)  things goes wrong.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk


Offline Ninja_FlaviusButterus

  • Team Ninja
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sport car driver
  • *
  • Posts: 414
  • Karma: 5
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Retirement
« Reply #16 on: September 25, 2014, 09:23:05 AM »
How do i do that hectic?

Offline HecticZA

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • GP 2 driver
  • *******
  • Posts: 5363
  • Karma: 128
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Retirement
« Reply #17 on: September 25, 2014, 09:48:52 AM »
How do i do that hectic?

There are a couple of ways.
You can download a free version of WinMTR here
Or you can use the following method:
Assuming that you use Windows.
Click on the Start button for Windows.
In the search area, type CMD and press enter.
Type the following command: tracert www.consoleracing.co.za and press enter.
You should see something like this.

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Jupiter>tracert www.consoleracing.co.za

Tracing route to consoleracing.co.za [196.46.185.95]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  2     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  105.233.34.1
  3    30 ms    31 ms    30 ms  196.6.121.38
  4    40 ms    39 ms    37 ms  africainx.cinx.net.za [196.223.22.47]
  5    66 ms    53 ms    52 ms  CORE.GP-ID-DCE-1.TO.GP-ID-DCE-2.AINX.P2P.10G.za.
africainx.net [41.84.12.6]
  6    47 ms    47 ms    52 ms  41.66.152.58
  7    56 ms    58 ms    57 ms  hosted.sh02-pta.za-dns.com [196.46.185.95]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\Jupiter>[/quote]

The command is tracert. You can replace the web address with any web address. Normally we do a local and international trace. ie www.bbc.co.uk or yahoo.com, etc

Offline Tosco-Diesel

  • Team Tosco
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Touring Car driver
  • *
  • Posts: 1439
  • Karma: 10
  • Gender: Male
  • I AM SPECIAL!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Retirement
« Reply #18 on: September 25, 2014, 09:48:56 AM »
On a pc click on start. Run. Type cmd enter. In the black box type in tracert 8.8.8.8 (google) and send the screenshot

Offline Tosco-Diesel

  • Team Tosco
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Touring Car driver
  • *
  • Posts: 1439
  • Karma: 10
  • Gender: Male
  • I AM SPECIAL!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Retirement
« Reply #19 on: September 25, 2014, 09:49:48 AM »
Lol.

Offline Driver 101

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Le Mans car driver
  • *******
  • Posts: 2587
  • Karma: 17
  • Gender: Male
  • ..../\/"""""\/\....
    • View Profile
Re: Retirement
« Reply #20 on: September 26, 2014, 07:56:27 AM »
Image on behalf of Steyn, any help would be appreciated.

Thanks guys



[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline HecticZA

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • GP 2 driver
  • *******
  • Posts: 5363
  • Karma: 128
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Retirement
« Reply #21 on: September 26, 2014, 08:06:51 AM »
There is nothing wrong with the stats. If the test was done in a period when he would normally race,  there are definitely no exchange congestion.

I am a bit surprised to see the stats on hop 1. Normally is show 1 or 0.
That is your router and indicates a possible problem within the house or a possible line problem.
I would suggest a router reboot if you haven't done it yet and maybe call Telkom for a port reset. I'm not sure if MWeb has the function in their client zone.

Make sure that no other device(pc, laptop, wireless devices) are using data when you do the test.
Do you have telephones connected? If yes, do they have pot filters? If yes, they might be damaged. Disconnect the phones and try gaming without them.
Do you have an alarm system? They are known to be culprits in dc's.

Do you have an uncapped account? What is the possibility that you are throttled?
Maybe download the WinMTR and run it for about 10 minutes. That will indicate if you have packet loss on your routing. I would suggest that you use an international address to test.
WinMtr uses a nice graphic interface, but you can use the pathping command instead of tracert to get a more detailed result as well.


In which area is Steyn?
I would also suggest that he post attenuation and SNr noise level stats. The info can be found in his router.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

Edit:
My stats can be found under Status, but it does differ from router to router.
If you can't find it, give me the make and model of your router and I will try to find the info to guide you.

This is an example of my info.

« Last Edit: September 26, 2014, 09:21:58 AM by Hectic »

Offline Tosco_MikeG

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Touring Car driver
  • *******
  • Posts: 1070
  • Karma: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Retirement
« Reply #22 on: September 26, 2014, 08:59:00 AM »
Does anyone know the IP address of the PD GT6 game servers in Europe? It would often be useful to do a Tracert directly to the domain that you are having a problem with.

Offline HecticZA

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • GP 2 driver
  • *******
  • Posts: 5363
  • Karma: 128
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Retirement
« Reply #23 on: September 26, 2014, 09:07:14 AM »
Does anyone know the IP address of the PD GT6 game servers in Europe? It would often be useful to do a Tracert directly to the domain that you are having a problem with.
I don't think that info is general knowledge unfortunately.
Maybe if you are behind a proxy, you will be able to detect those IP ranges.

Offline Ninja_OneManRiot

  • Team Leader
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • WTC Rally driver
  • *
  • Posts: 1964
  • Karma: 1011
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Retirement
« Reply #24 on: September 26, 2014, 09:39:37 AM »
The problem is with his router. He is running an older model router which is not fully ADSL2+ compatible. His router is known to have issues with the hardware temporarily freezing and packet loss thus unable to establish a solid P2P connection. In normal browsing this is fine but when you need a constant connection, it drops connectivity periodically. I tried to help him last night with a firmware update to his router but it was unsuccessful.

He needs to get a new router as there seems to be noting wrong with his line but rather the hardware.
« Last Edit: September 26, 2014, 09:44:38 AM by Ninja_OneManRiot »

Offline HecticZA

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • GP 2 driver
  • *******
  • Posts: 5363
  • Karma: 128
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Retirement
« Reply #25 on: September 26, 2014, 09:54:28 AM »
The problem is with his router. He is running an older model router which is not fully ADSL2+ compatible. His router is known to have issues with the hardware temporarily freezing and packet loss thus unable to establish a solid P2P connection. In normal browsing this is fine but when you need a constant connection, it drops connectivity periodically. I tried to help him last night with a firmware update to his router but it was unsuccessful.

He needs to get a new router as there seems to be noting wrong with his line but rather the hardware.
I was wondering about the router.
In the meantime he could try to force it to ADSL_G.dmt, instead of ADSL2+
That seems to work for some guys.

  • Print